Braids, CityFest, and Vaginas… Oh My

I have been super busy with stuff going on in both fellowships and trying to buy a house… no one ever warned me it would be this hard, buying a car is so much easier.  Not talking of that just yet, don’t want to jinx myself.  But yesterday was such a lovely day, I wanted to make sure to take time out to share it.  Loving this full moon energy and all the good and bad craziness that flows with it!

dsc_1868

Quin’s hair for school yesterday.  So proud to have done this with my arthritic hands.

 

Quin wants to be Elsa from Frozen for Halloween this year and she is very serious about it. She wants an authentic braid at the very least.  So, after having watched Dawn braiding, I thought I could give this a try.  After a ton of detangler and at least one false start, we were both quite happy with the results (as seen above).  Quin decided she didn’t want to leave the tail down for school, so it got pinned up, but it looked soooo good!  The costume I am acquiring for her has a braid extension that comes with the crown and whatnot.  I should, in theory, be able to replicate the braid from yesterday and just work the extension on the end for a genuine Elsa hairdo.  Very cool indeed… pun intended.

Yesterday, Dawn and I had also volunteered to help man the UU (Unitarian-Universalist) Fellowship table at CityFest on EKU Campus.  This is an annual Fall festival at Eastern Kentucky University that gives the students an opportunity to see what is available for them both on campus and in the surrounding area.  It is a lot of fun.  We helped out last year, too, and now I have so many ideas for how to make next year even better.  I made a list to be fleshed out a bit more and then presented to the Board for approval and the democratic process by my dear friend Thom.  Anyhoo, lots of fun, and so many people… we successfully distributed all the flyers and other materials we had that actually had the printed address or web URL to the fellowship.  I ended up hand-writing the URL onto several pamphlets so that we could still touch base with passersby.

dsc_1874

Amazing student artwork.  Ohana means Family.  No one is left behind. *sniffle*

While at CityFest, I had an opportunity to wander and found my way over to the Women and Gender Studies table where they were recruiting and advertising for the upcoming 2017 EKU Vagina Monologues.  If you don’t know what this is, please look it up.  I was blessed to be a part of the 2009 VM performance and would do anything to support these awesome ladies in their endeavors.  The very pleasant woman now in charge of that department was so kind and actually interested in the piece I crocheted on stage as possible set dressing or at least for the historical value.  It could keep a Flood-er warm, at the very least.

31077_10150204018720641_7083020_n

Yes, there I am, Yarn Witch crocheting and dreaming of Burt Reynolds on stage in 2009 with the “Vagina Cozy”.

I think the above photo was taken during rehearsal, as there are very strict rules about no photos during performances.  I have no idea who took the picture (it is obvious I was not paying attention) or whose website I yoinked my picture from, but I am glad to have it.  And that really long piece of crochet across my lap was begun at the cast retreat in December 2008 and finished just after the final show in February 2009.  If I had two more just like it, I could hook them together to make a king-sized spread, but I just don’t have the gumption to duplicate the work.  So, it has had an odd life of wandering around my house as various furniture covering or a cozy to wrap up in.  I teasingly referred to it as my “Vagina Cozy” for years.

Okay, back on topic, auditions are next week for this upcoming performance.  Please, if you are in the area and a woman (transgendered women are very welcomed), take the time to audition.  It is life-changing to be a performing activist.  (I do not claim to be an actor whatsoever.)  And yes, bad things happened in my life later in 2009, but for this one shiny moment, I was blissfully unaware of the darkness my future held and I was truly happy to feel I was making a difference for the good in my little corner of the Universe.

For those interested, here is my attempt to share the auditions flyer; you should be able to zoom in on the harder to read portions.  If anyone would like this in PDF format, I have that saved and can email it to you.  Just message me in the comments.

dsc_1875

C’mon, you know you want to….

All in all, yesterday pretty much rocked.  I hope yours was just as good and that you are enjoying this beautiful weather.  I’m going to get back to all this paperwork and continue to ponder on my Goddess because I really want to do something special for the Black Moon of September 30th.  I just don’t know what, yet.

Mahalo.

